1. K-State home
  2. »College of Veterinary Medicine
  3. »Alumni
  4. »Awards
  5. »Distinguished

College of Veterinary Medicine

Connect Purple
Distinguished Alumnus Award


The Distinguished Alumnus Award provides an avenue for recognizing one or more alumni of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine for their outstanding achievements.


  • Only living alumni of the College of Veterinary Medicine shall be eligible. This includes not only those who obtained their professional degrees but also those who received advanced degrees at Kansas State;

  • An alumnus who holds any one of the following State offices is not eligible for the award as long as he/she holds office:

    Governor, Member of Senate, Lieutenant Governor, Member of House of Representatives, Attorney General, Member State Board of Regents, Printer, Member State Board of Education, Insurance Commissioner, State Dept. of Admin., Auditor, Director, Department of Budget, Treasurer, Governor's Staff, Secretary of Agriculture;

  • Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible to receive the award during their period of service on the committee;

  • Except in cases of rare and unusual circumstances, a period of at least fifteen (15) years should elapse after receipt of degree before an individual is eligible for the award.

Factors to be considered by Selection Committee

  • Outstanding career in veterinary medicine;

  • Significant contributions benefiting his/her community, state, and/or nation;

  • Humanitarian services and contributions to the veterinary profession and society rather than material success alone;

  • Direct service to the College and/or University should receive consideration, but such contributions shall not be mandatory nor conclusive in making the selection;

  • Political success alone shall not be considered as an adequate measure of service;

  • Selection shall be based upon the life career of a nominee rather than upon a single activity or incident.


Awardee to be selected by the Executive Board of the VMAA for Veterinary Medicine.

Presentation of Award

The award is presented at the Alumni Brunch during the Annual Conference for Veterinarians by the College of Veterinary Medicine and its Veterinary Medical Alumni Association the first weekend of June.


Distinguished Alumnus Award
2019Dr. Jim Dale1967
2018Dr. Martha O'Rourke1966
2018Dr. Michael Moore1968
2017Dr. Marty Vanier1981
2017Dr. Nels N. Lindberg2001
2016Dr. David R. Franz1970
2015Dr. Thomas G. Ksiazek1970
2014Dr. David E. Granstrom1978
2013Dr. Ronald J. Marler1973
2012Dr. Michael Cavanaugh1983
2011Dr. James R. Coffman1962
2010Dr. John L. Noordsy1946
2009Dr. Guy H. Palmer1980
2008Dr. Jack Judy1958
2007Dr. Cecil Ingmire1943
2006Dr. Robert Smith1968, 1970, 1976
2005Dr. Vaughn A. Seaton1954
2004Dr. Bennie I. Osburn1961
2003Dr. Delwin L. Bokelman1958
2002Dr. Steven C. Henry1970, 1972
2001Dr. Duane R. Peterson1945, 1959
2000Dr. Peter C. Kennedy1949
1999Dr. William L. Mengeling1960
1998Dr. Fayne H. Oberst1943 July
1997Dr. Wayne O. Kester1931
1996Dr. Howard H. Furumoto1950, 1966
1995Dr. Marshall P. Reeve1943 July
1995Dr. Marvin L. Olmstead1970, 1972, 1975
1994Dr. Donald G. Low1947
1994Dr. Samuel E. Strahm1959
1993Dr. Jacob E. Mosier1945, 1948