Outstanding Young Alumnus


To recognize a recent graduate who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession, and / or their community, state or nation.


  • Graduate of KSU Veterinary College 10 years or less;
  • Member of the KSU CVM VMAA;
  • Current Executive Board members of the VMAA are ineligible;

Criteria for Selection

  • Exhibit outstanding contributions to veterinary medicine;
  • Demonstrate leadership in the veterinary profession;
  • Active in their local community: civic, local/state government, church, etc;
  • Humanitarian services and contributions to society and the profession rather than material success alone;

Presentation of Award

Award to be presented at the Annual Conference for Veterinarians at the Alumni Brunch.

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award
2023 Dr. Tera Barnhardt, 2014
2022 Dr. Ty Brunswig, 2014
2021 Dr. J. Trent Fox, 2010
2019 Dr. Cameon Ohmes, 2009
2018 Dr. Kathleen Ritzmann, 2008
2017 Dr. Chris Payton, 2007
2016 Dr. Taylor Truitt, 2006
2015 Dr. Sara Beth Mullaney, 2005
2014 Dr. Thomas Furman, 2004
2013 Dr. Copper Aitken-Palmer, 2003
2012 Dr. Cliff Mitchell, 2002