The VMAA presents Alumni Recognition Awards at five professional conferences each year, plus special recognition awards at other conferences/events. In addition to these, there are three awards given at the Annual Conference for Veterinarians in June during the Alumni Brunch:

Nominations are solicited and compiled for selection by the VMAA Executive Board.

Please send us your award nominations

Who do you think is deserving of an alumni association award? We want your input. Nominate an alumnus or alumna you hold in high esteem.

Nominate Here!

Recent Alumni Award Honorees

Dr. Adam Ruskin
Dr. Adam Ruskin, DVM 1990
2024 WVC Alumni Recognition Award

Dr. Matthew Edson
Dr. Matthew Edson, DVM 1969
2024 VMX Alumni Recognition Award

Dr. Charles Boreson

Dr. Charles Boreson, DVM 1973
2023 AAEP Alumni Recognition Award

Dr. Wilfred Schuler
Dr. Wilfred Schuler, DVM 1987
2023 AABP Alumni Recognition Award

Dr. Gordon Coppoc
Dr. Gordon Coppoc, DVM 1963
2023 Distinguished Alumnus Award

Dr. Tera Barnhardt
Dr. Tera Barnhardt, DVM 2014
2023 Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

Dr. T.G. Nagaraja
Dr. T.G. Nagaraja
2023 ER Frank Award

Dr. Robert Larson
Dr. Robert Larson, DVM 1987
2023 ER Frank Award

Dr. Jay Merriam

Dr. Jay Merriam, DVM 1969
2023 Alumni Fellow