Anatomy and Physiology

We are a multi-disciplinary department with responsibilities in instruction, research and continuing education in the disciplines of gross and microscopic anatomy, cell and systemic physiology, pharmacology, and neuroscience.




Thakkar and Comer2022 grads


DeepaCongratulations to our PhD graduates

Andrew Curtis, Miriam Martin, Deepa Upreti (pictured, left) and Ravindra Thakkar (pictured, right) have successfully completed defense of their PhD presentations. Congratulations to all of you!


Class of 2022 One Year Master's in Biomedical Science students celebrated graduation on May 9, with a party featuring Call Hall ice cream and cookies. Some of the students in this year's class are scheduled to graduate later in 2022.



Our mission: Cultivate an environment that fosters ingenuity, leadership and excellence in teaching, research and service.

Our vision: Build the finest veterinary biomedical science department.

Google Scholar pages



Instagram: K-State Anatomy & Physiology (@ksudap) • Instagram photos and videos

Twitter: Department of Anatomy & Physiology (@KSUDAP) / Twitter



Dr. Hans Coetzee honored as University Distinguished Professor

Anatomy & Physiology Department Head Dr. Hans Coetzee has earned Kansas State University's highest faculty title, University Distinguished Professor. He is known worldwide for his work developing objective measures of pain in food-producing animals. He also researches bovine anaplasmosis and has developed a single-dose implant vaccine that provides long-term immunity against anaplasmosis infections.

CoetzeeAwarded more than $21.2 million in research funding over the last 16 years, including more than $18 million from highly competitive federal sources, Dr. Coetzee has authored or co-authored more than 200 peer-reviewed manuscripts. He also is in high demand for consultation by livestock producers, practitioners, academic researchers and pharmaceutical companies on livestock pain assessment. He has presented his work at continuing education sessions and conferences around the world.

Dr. Coetzee's work has earned several international and national honors, including being the first North American recipient of the World Veterinary Association Global Animal Welfare Award in 2017, the second recipient of the World Buiatrics Congress Well-Being Achievement Award in 2018 and the youngest ever to win the American Veterinary Medical Association Animal Welfare Award in 2017. He has also received the American Association of Bovine Practitioners Award of Excellence and the Zoetis Award for Research Excellence.




Fritz receives awards

Anatomy & Physiology student Bailey Fritz received a Graduate Student Excellence Award from Department Head Dr. Hans Coetzee on May 3. Fritz also recently won a 2022 Zoetis Foundation/Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges Veterinary Student Scholarship for academic excellence.

Undergraduate researchers recognized for their hard work in labs

PhillipsJuliet Nava (not pictured), researcher in Dr. Rob DeLong's lab, won Biology's Most Promising Student Award and a Coffman Excellence in Research Award. Morgan Phillips (pictured, far left), researcher under Dr. Masaaki Tamura (center), received a K-INBRE Summer Semester Scholar Award. Phillips and Grace Calo (right) won Johnson Cancer Research Awards.

A&P grad student wins top prize in student abstract competition

SpringfieldCongratulations to Anatomy & Physiology graduate student Dariyan Springfield on being awarded first place in the student abstract competition at the online student AAVPT symposium. Springfield is mentored by Drs. Butch KuKanich, Kate KuKanich and Stephanie Martinez.

A&P alum receives Society of Animal Science Young Scholar Award

Congrats to Miriam Martin, PhD, on receiving the American Society of Animal Science Young Scholar Award at the 2022 ASAS-CSAS Annual Meeting and Trade Show.

Kinesiology doctoral student places second in thesis contest

SchulzeKiana Schulze, doctoral student in kinesiology, took second place in Kansas State University's Three-Minute Thesis competition. She also won a $1,000 American Physiological Society Cardiovascular Section Pre-doctoral Fellow Award and a $100 RSCAD College of Health and Human Sciences poster award, tying for first place in the Best Creative Display Research Poster.



ZoetisSannemanRecent achievements by A&P faculty, staff and students


  • Dr. Pradeep Malreddy has received the 2021 Boehringer Ingelheim Award For Excellence in Teaching in the first year of the DVM curriculum and also the CVM's Caring For Others Award. He and Dr. Matt Basel are also nominees for the 2022 Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award.
  • Dr. Mark Weiss was recently honored by the CVM as one of five faculty members to have been awarded U.S. patents in 2021.
  • ShiDr. Jishu Shi is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Wayne and Hilda Appleton Endowed Professorship. During his 14-year career at K-State, Dr. Shi has attained national and international recognition for his research focused on advancing our understanding of swine immunology, especially as this pertains to the development of vaccines and diagnostic assays to combat swine fevers. Dr. Shi is also the founder of The U.S.-China Center for Animal Health (now U.S.-Asia Center). Dr. Appleton graduated in the class of 1942 and served as a mixed animal practitioner and swine producer.
  • Dr. Abbie Viscardi recently coached a group of CVM students to a second-Viscardiplace finish nationally at the 21st annual AVMA Animal Welfare Assessment Contest. Brad Hill, Tessa van Buren, and Kaitlyn Rhine competed as a team in the Undergraduate Senior Division, and Madeline Hall (Class of 2024) competed as an individual in the Veterinary Division. The contest species this year were boar studs, psittacines as pets, and cats in a research setting. Dr. Abbie Viscardi served as the lead coach, with Eduarda Mazzardo Bortoluzzi (PhD Candidate in Animal Sciences) serving as the assistant coach. They met with students every week from the beginning of September to teach them animal welfare assessment techniques in preparation for the contest. At the competition, Kansas State University placed second in the Undergraduate Senior Division (out of 28 teams). Rhine placed third overall in her division (out of 44 students). Hill and van Buren also placed among the top 25%.
  • Joel Sanneman is the recipient of the 2022 President’s Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals. He was selected by peers to receive the Distinguished Accomplishment Award. For more than 15 years, Sanneman has enhanced research campus-wide through his outstanding performance as manager of the CVM Confocal Microscopy Facility. He is also one of the winner's of the CVM's High Five Awards for Spring 2022.
  • Drs. Judy Klimek, Jeff Comer, Rob DeLong and Pradeep Malreddy are recipients of the CVM’s JEDI (Justice & Equity, Diversity & Inclusion) Awards.
  • Dr. Jeff Comer and Ravi Thakkar were awarded an initial allocation of 48 hours on microscopes at the Pacific Northwest Center for Cryo-EM.



Wearing Covid-19 Masks: Blood Oxygenation and Exercise Capacity (KWCH - TV)

Dehorning Pain Management (Bovine Veterinarian)

Updated Ag Guide Expands on Pain Management (JAVMA)

Livestock Industry Studies Pain Management in Food Animals (Iowa PBS)

K-State Research Team Analyzes Industrial Hemp in Cattle Feed (Drovers)

K-State Research Team First to Analyze Safety of Industrial Hemp As Cattle Feed (KSN Wichita)

K-State Researches Possibility of Feeding Hemp to Cattle (KSNT Topeka)

K-State Studies Deadly Blue Green Algae (KSNT Topeka)