1. K-State home
  2. »College of Veterinary Medicine
  3. »Research
  4. »Veterinary Research Scholars Program
  5. »Mentors and Projects

College of Veterinary Medicine

Mentors and Projects

MENTORTITLEEMAILRESEARCH
Dr. Raghu AmachawadiAssistant Prof of Food Animal Therapeuticsagraghav@vet.k-state.eduMitigation strategies towards controlling antimicrobial resistance in swine production system.
Dr. Chieko AzumaClinical Associate Prof of Radiation Oncologychieko@vet.k-state.eduPain assessment and activity tracking in dogs undergoing radiation therapy.
Dr. Natalia CernicchiaroAssistant Prof of Epidemiologyncernic@vet.k-state.edu1. Statistical analysis of clinical research projects.
2. Effectiveness of feed additives in reducing lymph node Salmonella carriage in cattle.
Dr. Kyeong-Ok ChangProfessor of Virologykchang@vet.k-state.eduVirus entry events through endosomes.
Dr. Robert DeLongAssociate Prof of Physiologyrobertdelong@vet.k-state.edu 1. Genomics RNA pattern analysis for comparative oncolgy validation.
2. Biophysical interactions of anticancer peptide nanoparticles.
Dr. Charan GantaAssistant Prof of Pathologyckganta@vet.k-state.eduDevelopment and translation of thermal ablation technologies cancer  treatment: histopathology assessment of thermally ablated tissue.
Dr. Brian GeisbrechtProfessor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysicsgeisbrechtb@ksu.eduStudies on the Host Selectivity of the Staphylococcal Innate Immune Evasion Protein, SPIN.
Dr. Brian HerrinAssistant Prof of Parisitologybhh@vet.k-state.eduNational Equine Tick Survey: Pathogen Testing.
Dr. Maria JuganAssistant Prof of Small Animal Medicinemjugan@vet.K-state.eduGlucagon-like peptide 2 concentrations in the blood of healthy cats. 
Dr. Kimberly KirkpatrickUniversity Distinquished Prof of Psychological Scienceskirkpatr@ksu.eduEffects of DREADDs manipulation of pre-limbic cortex on time-based interventions to promote self-control in rats. 
Dr. Berlin Londono-RenteriaAssistant Prof in Entomologyblondono@ksu.eduHuman Natural Hybrid Bispecific Antibody role in Antibody Dependent enhancement of Zika Infection
Dr. Jessica MeekinsAssociate Prof of Ophthalmologyjslack@vet.k-state.eduEffects of gabapentin on ocular parameters in healthy cats after oral administration. 
Dr. Waithaka MwangiProfessor in Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiologywmwangi@vet.k-state.eduSafety and tolerability of African Swine Fever Virus subunit vaccine candidates in commercial pigs.
Dr. Kathryn ReifAssistant Prof in Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiologykreif@vet.k-state.eduDetection and evaluation of immunodominant Cytauxzoon felis antigens for use as a diagnostic target to identify C. felis carrier cats.
Dr. Juergen RichtProfessor of Virologyjricht@k-state.eduIdentification of host genes involved in swine influenza replication.
Dr. Stephanie ShamesAssistant Prof in Biologysshames@ksu.eduRole of the effector VpdC in Legionella pneumophila pathogenesis in a mouse model of infection.
Dr. Kris SilverResearch Assistant Prof of Entomologyksilver@ksu.eduEnhancing RNA interference efficiency in the mosquito vector, Aedes albopictus
Dr. Nora SpringerAssistant Prof of Clinical Pathologynlspring@vet.k-state.eduMorphometric parameters to differentiate metastatic versus tissue-resident canine mast cells in lymph node, liver, and spleen cytology preparations. 
Dr. Abbie ViscardiAssistant Prof in Behavior Physiologyaviscardi@vet.k-state.eduThe use of firocoxib, administered to the sow and delivered transmammary to her piglets, to relieve pain associated with surgical castration and tail docking.
Dr. Mark WeissProfessor in Anatomy & Physiologymlweiss@ksu.eduTesting the effects of serine proteases on stem cells.
Dr. Zhilong YangAssistant Prof in Biologyzyang@ksu.eduPoxvirus replication and host interactions.