CRWAD Fellows include Dr. M.M. Chengappa and other K-Staters

A recent ceremony in the Windy City featured a foursome of Fellows who each have a connection to Kansas State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine. The Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases presented its 2024 class of CRWAD Fellows during the meeting held Jan. 20-23 at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile.

The 2024 class of Fellows included M.M. Chengappa, a university distinguished professor who retired from the veterinary college in June 2023 after more than 35 years of service. Joining him in the class was Scott McVey, a former K-State faculty member (now adjunct) who is currently employed with the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University of Nebraska.

Drs. Paul Morley and M.M. ChengappaCRWAD Executive Director Dr. Paul Morley presents the CVM's Dr. M.M. Chengappa as one of the year's class of CRWAD Fellows. Photos courtesy of Dr. Laura Miller.

Third on the list was Steven Olsen, who earned both a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree and Ph.D. at K-State. He is currently employed with the Infectious Bacterial Diseases Research Unit with the National Animal Disease Center. The fourth fellow, Amelia Woolums, completed an internship at K-State and is currently the Mikell and Mary Cheek Hall Davis endowed professor of beef cattle health and reproduction in the Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine at Mississippi State University.

Two other distinguished scientists were recognized in this class of CRWAD Fellows, and all were recognized for their distinguished research careers, ability to communicate and interpret science to stakeholders and the public, and significant contributions to scientific literature in animal health and disease, population health, and translational medicine. Each inductee is noted for having made sustained and notable contributions to CRWAD through service and participation in the CRWAD organization.

CRWAD Fellows Scott McVey, Christopher Chase, Steven Olsen, Amelia Woollums, James Roth and M.M. ChengappaAll six CRWAD Fellows for 2024: From left, Drs. Scott McVey, Christopher Chase, Steven Olsen, Amelia Woollums, James Roth and M.M. Chengappa.

Election as a CRWAD Fellow is a lifetime honor, and all CRWAD Fellows are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity and make ongoing contributions to the mission of CRWAD. Reflecting the tradition and spirit of CRWAD, mentoring young research scientists in furthering their careers is an important contribution CRWAD Fellows are encouraged to continue to prioritize.