Mentors and Projects

MENTOR TITLE EMAIL RESEARCH
Dr. Raghavendra Amachawadi Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology/Epidemiology agraghav@vet.ksu.edu Effect of antibiotic alternatives on antimicrobial resistance in swine production systems
Dr. Chieko Azuma Clinical Assistant Professor chieko@vet.k-state.edu Pain assessment and activity tracking in dogs with spontaneous cancer undergoing radiation therapy.
Dr. Natalia Cernicchiaro Assistant Prof of Epidemiology ncernic@vet.k-state.edu Quantifying how whole-dairy and large-scale feedlot application of a pre-harvest fermentation product reduces Salmonella in lymph nodes.
Dr. Jeba Jesudoss Chelladurai Assistant Professor of Parasitology jebaj@vet.k-state.edu Optimizing an in vitro assay to differentiate drug-susceptible and resistant canine heartworm
Dr. Robert DeLong Associate Prof of Physiology robertdelong@vet.k-state.edu Function of the most conserved sequence in the NSARS-CoV-2 RNA genome: synthesis and characterization of a palindromic triplex forming regulatory region NSARS-CoV-2.
Dr. Sherry Fleming Professor, Biology sdflemin@ksu.edu Mechanisms of intestinal ischemia/reperfusion injury vary by sex.
Dr. Roman Ganta Professor and Director of Center of Excellence for Vector-Borne Diseases rganta@vet.k-state.edu Evaluation of vaccines to prevent infections with tick-borne Ehrlichia and Anaplasma species pathogens in canine and bovine hosts
Dr. Brian Herrin Assistant Professor of Parasitology bhh@vet.k-state.edu Tick-borne pathogens of horses
Dr. Maria Jugan Assistant Prof of Clinical Sciences mjugan@vet.k-state.edu Effect of IV Iron Sucrose (Venofer) on hematologic parameters in healthy cats.
Dr. Michael Kleinhenz Assistant Prof of Beef Production Medicine mkleinhe@vet.k-state.edu Determination of cannabinoid concentrations in milk from Holsteins fed industrial hemp.
Dr. Butch KuKanich Professor in Anatomy & Physiology kukanich@ksu.edu Evaluation of the efficacy and effects of the novel long-acting oral analgesic, methadone/fluconazole/naltrexone, in dogs.
Dr. Kate KuKanich Associate Prof of Internal Medicine kstenske@ksu.edu Characterization and relevance of leukogram in dogs presenting for elective spay and neuter.
Dr. Meena Kumari Associate Prof in Anatomy & Physiology mkumari@vet.ksu.edu Determine effect(s) of minor cannabinoids on human astrocytes.
Dr. Phillip Lancaster Clinical Assistant Professor, Ruminant Nutrition palancaster@vet.k-state.edu Quantifying the relationship between maintenance energy requirements and carcass and visceral body composition in ruminants
Dr. Bob Larson Professor of Production Medicine rlarson@vet.ksu.edu

Using field data and epidemiologic methods to evaluate bull breeding soundness examination variables and other reproductive parameters in beef cattle herds

Dr. Berlin Londono Assistant Prof of Entomology blondono@ksu.edu Role of mosquito salivary proteins in animal angiogenesis.
Dr. Dylan Lutter Clinical Assistant Professor of Equine Performance Medicine and Surgery dlutter@vet.k-state.edu Evaluation of wound healing gene expression in equine wounds treated with autologous biologic therapies
Dr. Waithaka Mwangi Professor in Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology wmwangi@vet.k-state.edu Development of African Swine Fever [ASFV] subunit vaccines.
Dr. T.G. Nagaraja University Distinguished Professor of Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology tnagaraj@vet.k-state.edu

Impact of feeding a commercial probiotic on fecal shedding of Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli in feedlot cattle

Dr. Leela Noronha USDA, ARS, ABADRU leela.noronha@usda.gov

Effects of high-polyphenol sorghum bran extract on porcine macrophage-like cells

Dr. Cassandra Olds Assistant Prof of Entomology colds@ksu.edu Housefly hustle: how far do house flies fly in confined cattle operations.
Dr. Yoonseong Park Professor of Entomology ypark@ksu.edu

Effects of microbiome on tick survival

Dr. Juergen A. Richt Regents Distinguished Professor and Director of Center of Excellence for Emerging and Zoonotic Animal Diseases jricht@k-state.edu

Differential gene expression in SARS-CoV-2-infected preclinical animal models

Dr. David Renter Professor of Epidemiology drenter@vet.ksu.edu Health management factors affecting the value of beef calves sold through online video auction.
Dr. Kris Silver Research Assistant Professor, Entomology ksilver@ksu.edu Identifying mechanisms that affect exosome function.
Dr. Nora Springer Assistant Prof of Clinical Pathology nlspring@vet.k-state.edu Equine IgG 3/5 responses to non-viral vaccine components.
Dr. Masaaki Tamura Professor in Anatomy & Physiology mtamura@vet.ksu.edu Prevention of influenza A viral infection
Dr. Abbie Viscardi Assistant Prof of Behavior Physiology aviscardi@vet.k-state.edu Evaluation of oral firocoxib, administered to the sow and delivered transmammary to piglets, to alleviate pain in swine
Dr. William Whitehouse Assistant Prof of Small Animal Medicine wwhitehouse@vet.k-state.edu
Renal and cardiac effects of diltiazem continuous infusion in healthy dogs.