College of Veterinary Medicine

Processional*

Jordyn Allen, Senior, Applied Music and Psychology

National Anthem

Brittany Kovar, Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Candidate

Welcome and Introductions

Bonnie Rush, Hodes Family Dean

Greetings From the Board of Regents Shellaine "Shelly" Kiblinger, Regent

Presentation of Honorary Degree in Veterinary Medicine

Bonnie Rush, Hodes Family Dean

Honoree

Cheryl Mellenthin, College of Veterinary Medicine Supporter, Patron and Advocate

Commencement Address

Michael Dryden, University Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology

Presentation of Degree Candidates

James Roush, Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Student Success

Hooding of Candidates

Derek Mosier, Professor and Department Head, Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology

Matthew Basel, Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Physiology

Emily Reppert, Associate Professor, Clinical Sciences Thomas Schermerhorn, Professor, Clinical Sciences

Presentation of Diplomas

Bonnie Rush, Hodes Family Dean Richard H. Linton, President

Charles S. Taber, Provost and Executive Vice President

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Oath

Jennifer Schofield, Elanco Animal Health

Student Address

Raymond Pottios, President, Class of 2022

Alma Mater*

Jordyn Allen, Senior, Applied Music and Psychology

Recessional

Jordyn Allen, Senior, Applied Music and Psychology

Marshals

Leslie Weaver, Clinical Assistant Professor, Clinical

Bryan Weaver, Clinical Assistant Professor, Clinical Sciences

*The audience will please rise.

Speaker



Michael Dryden

mong Kansas State ****University's most distinguished faculty members, Michael Dryden is an internationally recognized expert on fleas and ticks.

A native Kansan, Dryden was born in Osborne and grew up on a farm northwest of Cawker City. He earned a bachelor's

degree in 1982 and a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in 1984, both from K-State. He spent a couple years in private practice before going on to earn a master's degree in 1988 and a doctorate in 1990, both from Purdue University. It was while he was a graduate student at Purdue that the veterinary students started calling him "Dr. Flea," a nickname that stuck throughout his career.

Dryden joined the College of Veterinary Medicine faculty in 1990 as an assistant professor of veterinary parasitology in the diagnostic medicine and pathobiology department. He was promoted to full professor in 1999 and in 2011 he received the designation of university distinguished professor, the university's highest faculty ranking.

The professor's research program was involved in two primary areas: the biology and control of fleas and ticks infesting dogs and cats, and the diagnosis and control of gastrointestinal parasites of dogs and cats. Dryden has published more

than 150 manuscripts and 15 book chapters on numerous internal and external parasites, and fleas and flea control, including flea-host association, longevity, egg production, blood consumption, carpet microclimate, on-animal and premises' flea control assessment techniques, flea trapping systems such as the intermittent-light flea trap, insecticide resistance, flea allergy dermatitis, flea gender structure, reproductive break point analysis, residual speed of kill models, in-home field trials and more.

He has lectured in 22 countries, presenting more than 1,000 invited seminars on clinical veterinary parasitology at local, regional, national and international meetings. His work brought him several national and international honors, including being named a charter diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists in 2011; Veterinarian of the Year, presented at the 56th annual Show Dogs of the Year Awards at the Westminster Dog Show; the American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists Distinguished Parasitologist of the Year; and the American Association of Veterinary Microbiologists Distinguished Microbiologist of the Year. He also received the Pfizer Award for Research Excellence. the K-State Distinguished Service Award from the Kansas Veterinary Medical Association, a Recognition Award in Urban Entomology from the northcentral branch of the Entomological Society of America and an Excellence in Teaching Award from the American College of Veterinary Dermatology.

Dryden retired in 2020.

Veterinarians Oath

 ${f B}$ eing admitted to the profession of veterinary medicine, I solemnly swear to use my scientific knowledge and skills for the benefit of society through the protection of animal health and welfare, the prevention and relief of animal suffering, the conservation of animal resources, the promotion of public health, and the advancement of medical knowledge.

I will practice my profession conscientiously, with dignity, and in keeping with the principles of veterinary medical ethics.

I accept as a lifelong obligation the continual improvement of my professional knowledge and competence.

Degree Candidates

Abigail June Ayre **Brooke Bailey** Haley Michelle Bartlett Nicole Marie Bastien Jesse D. Batty Amanda Bennett Zackery D. Bieberly (Mcl) Sydney Breanne Bigger Jacob Dennis Bornschlegl Nicole S. Bosomworth Tera Lynn Brandt Lacey Marie Buckwalter (Scl) Madeline Claire Burke Samantha Sue Butrico (Scl) Laura Grace Bynum Allison Anne Chojnacki (CI) Christopher Chang Clarkston Emilia Crawford Mia Alexis Cuccaro Michael Anthony Demmin Ravneet Singh Dhillon Kyle Benjamin Dorton Lindsey Nicole Ennen **Emily Ann Eppler** Elizabeth Ann Flaherty Elizabeth Rosa Flax (Mcl) Shaylee Jo Flax (CI) Andrew Franklin Arturo Garza III Jana Marie Gigliotti (Mel) Meredith Leigh Glaister Hannah Elizabeth Grosko Alexandra Elizabeth Halpin Colter Peter Haman Joshua Logan Harlan Joshua Michael Haynes Daria Gretchen Hinkle (Scl) Ellie Louise Holtaway (CI) Colton Hull Savannah Nicole Isheim Molly Nicole Jaax Juliann Marie Jakeman (CI) Megan Hanna Jenkins Audra Caroline Jones Brittany Elaine Kovar (Cl) Kimberly Charlotte Krayer Breanna Danielle Kriley Cassandra Marie Kroncke Sarah Angelene Krueger Anna Lois Kucera Brittany A. Leavitt (Cl) Alyssa Taryn Lee (Scl) McKenzie Nichole Lessard Morgan V. Lewis

Carolyn Grace Mark Tori Kaitlyn Matta Victoria Gaye Maurath Jessica Lea McCall (Mel) Cierra Noel McClure Tess Marie McPheeters Leah Johanna Metzger Rachel Anna Miller Emma Ross Munyan Sarah Ashlyn Myers Katherine Marie Norris Eden Anastasia Opie Ronald James Orchard Iulia Osipova (Scl) Abraham Padilla Jason Matthew Paine William Gregory Patterson (Mcl) Caroline A. Pawlowski Alexis Dianne Pedrow (CI) **Emmy Poquette** Raymond P. Pottios Shain Ashton Powell (Mel) Amanda Shea Preczewski (CI) Guinevere Renegade Rana Jayne Louise Regan Talis Lawrence Rehse Calla Annmarie Reilly Katherine Ann Rettmer Melissa Nicole Riley Ruth E. Roebke Sarah Anne Rogg (Mel) **Justin Sahs** Paige Elise Schoonveld Laura Ann Schultz Laura Christine Sellers Ruyue Shi Tyler Douglas Shima Seth Michael Shriwise Whitney Erin Sloan Plummer (Cl) Jessica Jo Stephenson Matthew B. Stokes (Mcl) Victoria Malea Stone Ryan Edward Swanson (Mel) Melissa Marie Tye (CI) Natasha Brianne VanGundy Brandon Bryce Verkinderen (Mel) Kaylee Nicole Visser Weihan Wang Skyler Paul West Meagan Michelle Wood Kallie Ayn Woodruff Mikaleigh Ann Woodward Keri Ann Woofter Taylor Marie Wright Sunyoung Yoon

Alexandria Marie Zabiegala



Madison Rae Ludewig

Elin Christine Maki