1. K-State home
  2. »College of Veterinary Medicine
  3. »Alumni
  4. »Awards
  5. »E. R. Frank

College of Veterinary Medicine

Connect Purple
E. R. Frank Award


To honor those veterinarians who have contributed positively and significantly to Veterinary Medicine through their long term service to the Kansas State University, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Criteria for Nomination

Nomination may be made by any alumnus of the Kansas State University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Nominees should be individuals who have enjoyed a long-standing (15 years) relationship with the college. This relationship may include service, either current or prior, as a member of the faculty. Individuals need not be an alumnus of Kansas State University to be nominated and considered for this award. Nominees should have a noteworthy record of significant service and contribution to both the profession and Kansas State University, and be recognized for achieving their success in an unassuming and unpretentious manner that emulates the professional essence of Dr. E. R. Frank. Seated administrators would not be considered as nominees during their term of administrative appointment. There is no limit to the number of time an individual may be nominated. Any individual may receive this award only once in their lifetime.


The awardee will be selected by the Executive Board of the Veterinary Medical Alumni Association (VMAA), or at the pleasure of the VMAA President, selection may be accomplished by an awards committee established by the Dean of Veterinary Medicine which includes the VMAA President or his/her designated representative.


The honoree will receive their award at the Alumni Brunch during the Annual Conference for Veterinarians and be presented by the College of Veterinary Medicine and its Veterinary Medical Alumni Association the first weekend of June.

E. R. Frank Award
2019Dr. M.M.ChengappaKSU CVM faculty, former DMP department head and 32 years of service to the college
2018Dr. Harish MinochaKSU CVM faculty, 33 years of service to the college
2017Dr. Kenneth HarkinKSU CVM faculty, 20 years of service to the college
2016Dr. James W. CarpenterKSU CVM Faculty, 27 years of service to the college
2015Dr. Michael W. DrydenDVM, Kansas State University, 1984
2014Dr. Derek A. MosierDVM, Kansas State University, 1978
2013Dr. Polly R. SchoningDVM, Kansas State University, 1964
2012Dr. Deryl TroyerDVM, Kansas State University, 1972
2011Dr. Frederick Oehme1969, KSU CVM Faculty, 46 years of service to the college
2010Dr. Walter Cash1971, KSU CVM Faculty, 36 years of service to the college
2009Dr. David Hodgson1968, KSU CVM Faculty
2008Dr. George A. KennedyKSU CVM Faculty, 33 years of service to the college
2007Dr. Robert M. Phillips1951
2006Dr. Howard Erickson1959
2005Dr. James R. CoffmanServed as dean of the K-State College of Veterinary Medicine from 1984 to 1987
2004Dr. Robert TaussigKSU CVM Faculty, 18 years of service to the college
2003Dr. Dan W. Upson1952, 1962, 1969
2002Dr. Russell A. Frey1952, 1970
2001Dr. Jerome G. VestwebberKSU CVM Faculty, 32 years of service to the college
2000Dr. Hugh C. ButlerKSU CVM Faculty, 20 years of service to the college
1999Dr. Loyce Derald Jernigan1945
1998Dr. Melvin J. Swenson1943
1997Dr. David A. Schoneweis1956
1996Dr. Frank W. Jordan1939
1995Dr. John L. Noordsy1946, 1962
1994Dr. Lee T. Railsback1936, 1937
1993Dr. James D. Smith1958
1991Dr. William J. Winchester1946
1987Dr. Earl Ray Walker1945
1986Dr. L. Derald Jernigan1945
1985Dr. Roy J. Milleret1944, 1959
1985Dr. Andrew P. Gray1953, 1963