College of Veterinary Medicine
Kansas State University
101 Trotter Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506

SCAVMA

2013-2014 SCAVMA Executive Board

President Kyle Clymer, 2015 clymer@vet.ksu.edu
President-elect Bruce Figger, 2016 bjfigger@vet.k-state.edu
Vice-President Brice Huelsman, 2015 bhuels@vet.k-state.edu
Secretary Alyson Post, 2015 acpost@vet.k-state.edu
Treasurer Todd Luttgeharm, 2015 toddlutt@vet.ksu.edu
Treasurer-elect Jeni Nezerka, 2016 jnezerka@vet.k-state.edu
Senior SAVMA Delegate Hannah Leventhal, 2015 HRLvet@vet.k-state.edu
Junior SAVMA Delegate Mikaela Vetters, 2016 HRLvet@vet.k-state.edu
Freshman Delegate    
Mentoring Chair  
Intramural Chair Brian Smith, 2016 brijasmith@vet.k-state.edu
Fundraising Chair Michelle Pavlick, 2015 Mkp9285@vet.k-state.edu
Fundraising Chair-elect Jenni McGrady, 2016 mcgrjc6@vet.k-state.edu
Wellness Chair Kerri Nelson, 2016 kerrileighnelson@vet.k-state.edu
SCAVMA Outreach Abby Jennings, 2015 abbyj@vet.k-state.edu
Hills Representative - Sr Nicole Born, 2015 nborn@ksu.edu
Hills Representative - Jr Melanie Hinzpeter, 2016 mmmh@vet.k-state.edu
Ex officio Michael Solomon, 2014 msolomon@vet.k-state.edu
Faculty Advisor Dr. Mary Lynn Higginbotham mhigginb@vet.k-state.edu
Faculty Advisor Elect Dr. Dan Thomson dthomson@k-state.edu


2013-2014 Club Presidents
Bovine Club (AABP) Aaron Schaffer, 2015 schaffe8@vet.k-state.edu
Equine Club (AAEP) Hannah Leventhal, 2015 HRLvet@vet.k-state.edu
Feline Club (AAFP) Jessica Chavera, 2015 chavera@vet.ksu.edu
AAHA Club Misty Yancey, 2015 myancey@vet.k-state.edu
Swine Club (AASV) Jett Eder, 2015 jetteder@vet.ksu.edu
Small Ruminants Club (AASRP) Marjory Dunlap, 2015 mdunlap@vet.k-state.edu
Pathology Club (ACVP) Michael Duff, 2015 duff.wildcat@gmail.com
Theriogenology Club Brandi Taul, 2014 btaul@vet.k-state.edu
Christian Veterinary Fellowship (CVF) Nicole Born, 2015 nborn@vet.k-state.edu
Exotic Animal Medicine Club (EAMC) Stacey Burdick, 2015 smburdic@vet.k-state.edu
Public Health Club Amy Sents, 2015 asents@vet.ksu.edu
Kansas Veterinary Educational Supply Service (KVESS) Sabra Ortega, 2015 sabrao@vet.k-state.edu
Emergency and Critical Care Society (SCVECCS) Sarah Halpern, 2016 shalpern@vet.ksu.edu
Canine Club Bailey Krostoski, 2015 bailey0@vet.k-state.edu
Society of Animal Behaviorists (SCAVSAB) Kimberly Hoefert, 2015 khoefert@vet.k-state.edu
Veterinary Business Management Club (VBMA) Eddie Lo, 2015 elo@vet.k-state.edu
International Veterinary Student Association (IVSA) Elizabeth Marsh, 2015 ermarsh@vet.ksu.edu
Toastmasters Club - If interested contact Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sanjeev Narayanan
Holistic Club Ashley Kelican, 2016 akelican@vet.ksu.edu
KSU CVM Surgery Club Shoshana Levshin, 2016 levshin@vet.k-state.edu
Student Chapter of the Association of Shelter Veterinarians (SCASV) Morgan Matile, 2015 mlmatile@vet.k-state.edu
KSU CVM Camelid Medicine Club Tiffany Mainini, 2015 tmainini@vet.k-state.edu
KSU CVM Nutrition Club Jeffrey Laifer, 2017 jlaifer@vet.k-state.edu
Student Chapter of the Lesbian and Gay Veterinary Medical Association (SCLGVMA) Caren Chellgren, 2015 caren08@vet.k-state.edu


SCAVMA Officer and Committee Chair Descriptions and Benefits:

President

  • Preside over SCAVMA Executive Board Meetings and Student Chapter meetings as Chief Executive Officer.
  • Attend KVMA meetings as a representative of KSU-CVM and SCAVMA.
  • Act as the voice of SCAVMA when requested or needed in interaction with faculty, administration, staff, and/or other students.
  • Appoint all regular and special committees, and promptly fill vacancies in the membership of the committees and Executive Board.
  • Work with the President-elect on all of the duties of the office of President.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in leadership and working together with others in running an organization.
    • Build contacts with veterinarians and professionals.
    • Develop good interpersonal skills in interactions with faculty, administration, and students.
President-elect
  • Work with the president to learn all duties of the office of President
  • Benefits:
    • Will automatically become SCAVMA President the following year.
Vice-President
  • Preside over SCAVMA Executive Board Meetings and Student Chapter meetings in the absence of the President.
  • Aid and assist the other officers of SCAVMA in every way possible.
  • Schedule and organize guest speakers and/or entertainment of all-school meetings of SCAVMA.
  • Provide refreshments for Executive Board and Student Chapter meetings.
  • Prepare and file a brief summary and evaluation of programs conducted by SCAVMA.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in leadership and working together with others to run an organization.
    • Build contacts with veterinarians and professionals.
Secretary
  • Attend all meetings of the Executive Board and Student Chapter, record and read all minutes, report correspondence, and keep attendance.
  • Supply the AVMA with any requested information.
  • Maintain the SCAVMA webpage and update with all business of the Student Chapter.
  • Send thank you notes to speakers at Student Chapter meetings and to funding sources of SCAVMA.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in working with a team to lead an organization.
    • Develop good organizational skills.
    • Build contacts with veterinarians and professionals.
    • Develop an extensive knowledge of all aspects of KSU-CVM and SCAVMA.
Treasurer
  • Be the sole custodian of the financial resources of the Student Chapter.
  • Keep a careful account of all income, expenses, and assets of the Student Chapter, and make such disbursements as the Student Chapter may direct.
  • Be responsible for payment of dues to SAVMA prior to the AVMA deadline each year.
  • Attend all meetings of the Student Chapter and the Executive Board, and report on the financial accounts of the Student Chapter.
  • Be responsible for the preparation of the budget for the fiscal year following completion of their term ending May 31st.
  • Work with the Treasurer-elect on the duties and responsibilities of Treasurer.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in working with a team to lead an organization.
    • Develop good organizational and money handling skills.
    • Build contacts with veterinarians and professionals.
Treasurer-elect
  • Work with the Treasurer to learn all duties of the office of Treasurer.
  • Benefits:
    • Will automatically become Treasurer the following year.
SAVMA Delegates
  • Attend and represent KSU-CVM at all SAVMA meetings at the SAVMA House of Delegates.
  • Report on SAVMA meetings and activities, and pass on information from SAVMA to SCAVMA and appropriate parties.
  • Organize student attendance of SAVMA Symposium, including housing, transportation, and registration.
  • Maintain a file of SAVMA committee reports, minutes, and other pertinent information for reference and information.
  • Meet with curriculum committee and any necessary faculty for scheduling conflicts.
  • Attend all SCAVMA Executive Board and Student Chapter Meetings
  • Serve a term of two years, beginning as a sophomore.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain a wide network of student and veterinary contacts throughout the United States.
    • Be able to attend various Veterinary Conferences throughout the US as a representative of KSU-CVM.
    • Build valuable leadership and team skills.
Fundraising Chair
  • Chair the fundraising committee, with members to be selected by the fundraising chair.
  • Organize events to raise money for SCAVMA.
  • Be in charge of the care package program each year.
  • Submit any money made from such events to the Treasurer for deposit.
  • Attend all SCAVMA Executive Board and Student Chapter Meetings.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in working with a team to lead an organization.
    • Build contacts with veterinarians and professionals.
    • Develop good organizational skills.
Mentoring Chair
  • Chair the mentoring committee, with members to be selected by the mentoring chair.
  • Organize and maintain a network of veterinarians interested in mentoring veterinary students.
  • Organize and maintain a mentoring program for veterinary students willing to mentor interested elementary and high school students.
  • Attend all SCAVMA Executive Board and Student Chapter Meetings.
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in working with a team to lead an organization.
    • Build a wide range of veterinary contacts in and around Kansas.
    • Develop good organizational skills.
Intramural Chair
  • Chair the intramural committee, with members to be selected by the intramural chair.
  • Organize and oversee intramural athletic events through the KSU recreational facilities.
  • Keep track of athletic games and events, and post such events on the bulletin boards for the students.
  • Maintain a roster of intramural teams, and win/loss history.
  • Attend all SCAVMA Executive Board and Student Chapter Meetings.
  • Benefits:
    • Build valuable leadership and team skills.
    • Develop good organizational skills.
    • Gain a good working knowledge of the athletic events around KSU.
Hills Chair
  • Work with the Hill’s student representative to advance the relationship between Hill’s and SCAVMA.
  • Collect money at all Hill’s food loading dock student handouts to be given over to the Treasurer.
  • Attend all SCAVMA Executive Board and Student Chapter Meetings
  • Benefits:
    • Gain valuable experience in working with a team to lead an organization.
    • Develop good organizational skills.