College of Veterinary Medicine
Kansas State University
101 Trotter Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506

Association of Equine Practitioners

The KSU Student Chapter of the American Association of Equine Practitioners is an organization whose goal is to provide veterinary students with increased exposure to issues of special interest in the equine industry.

The level of experience in the equine industry is of no importance for club members. All students, from those with no horse experience to owners, experienced show and race trainers, rodeoers and farriers can benefit from membership in this organization. All that is required to profit from membership is a desire to learn.

Monthly meetings feature respected faculty, both veterinary and non-veterinary equine specialists, as well as equine practitioners and equine producers. Surgery, medicine, practice management and equine facilities are just some of the topics discussed. Wet labs, fund-raisers, continuing education conferences, Equine Emergency Team, Equine ICU Team, and Foal Team are some of the "hands on" activities available to members. SCAAEP club advisors are dedicated to helping members learn more about the equine industry. Student members also have the option of joining the AAEP and receiving full membership benefits at a discounted rate.

The offices of President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are filled through elections at the November meeting. SCAAEP invites any interested KSU/CVM student to join!

Equine Rounds are every Wednesday at 5:00 pm in equine receiving.

Advisors

Dr. Beth Davis edavis@vet.k-state.edu
Dr. Laurie Beard lbeard@vet.k-state.edu

 

2013 - 2014 Executive Officers

President Hannah Leventhal, 2015
HRLvet@vet.ksu.edu
Vice President Caren Chellgren, 2015
caren08@vet.ksu.edu
Secretary Emily Marston, 2016
emilymarston@vet.ksu.edu
Treasurer Tracey Stonebridge, 2015
traceys@vet.ksu.edu
Fundraiser Chair Kristyn Smith, 2016
ksmith44@vet.ksu.edu
Emergency Team Coordinator Stephanie Blythe, 2015
sblythe@ksu.edu

Wet Lab and Events Co-Coordinators

Samantha Schimming, 2016
paisley@vet.ksu.edu
Chad Foust, 2016
cfoust@vet.ksu.edu