Skip to the content

Kansas State University

Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award


Dr. Walter Cash receives the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award from Dean Ralph Richardson

Dr. Walter Cash receives the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award from Dean Ralph C. Richardson.

Dr. Walter C. Cash received his BS degree in 1969, his DVM degree 1971, and his PhD in 1982, all from Kansas State University.

From 1971 until 1974 Dr. Cash was in private veterinary practice in Rockford, Illinois.   Since 1974 Dr. Cash has advanced through the ranks from temporary instructor to full professor in the Department of Anatomy and Physiology.  Dr. Cash has been a member of more than 15 graduate student committees and has authored or co-authored more than 40 peer reviewed publications.  Dr. Cash has produced more than 20 videotapes used in his anatomy classes and served on many college and university committees.

Dr. Cash is a charter member of Sigma Chapter of Phi Zeta, a member of Phi Kappa Phi, Gamma Sigma Delta, and Phi Zeta.  He is also an active member of the American Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Veterinary Anatomists, World Association of Anatomists, Society for Neuroscience, and the American Association for the Advancement for Science.

Dr. Cash is best known for his patient, practical, caring method of teaching and his hearty laugh.  His genuine concern for each student is evident.  One of today's graduating students commented that "Dr. Cash's desire to teach is evident not only in the classroom but after hours as well.  His patience in anatomy and clear explanations truly help create the foundation for our future as veterinarians.  Not only this, but his genuine compassion and ability to treat us as colleagues qualifies him for this award."

This is the second time that Dr. Cash has received a Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award.  His first was in 1980.

The Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award was presented to Dr. Cash during the annual College of Veterinary Medicine honors banquet held on April 19, 2000.