Veterinary Medical Library
|Patron Type||Loan Period||Renewable|
|K-State undergraduates||30 days||11 times|
|K-State graduate students and staff||120 days||2 times|
|K-State faculty||6 months||1 automatic renewal|
|Kansas residents (with Community Patron Card)||30 days||11 times|
|Visiting faculty, researchers, and scholars||30 days||11 times|
You may renew books in person at the information desk and online in your My Library Account. If your office or lab is on campus, consider the Renew It program. Please return borrowed material to designated return areas.
Special material exceptions to the general loan periods include:
|Post-1960 bound periodicals*||3 days||No|
|Maps||7 days||1 renewal|
|History Collection||7 days||1 renewal|
*most materials are renewable unless recalled
You are responsible for the material you borrow. Please pay attention to loan periods, due dates, and return policies.
Overdue "courtesy" notices are sent as reminders but keeping your email and postal mailing address up to date with K-State Libraries will help ensure you receive notices in a timely manner. Please read all notices the Libraries sends to you.
Some materials accrue fines if you do not return them by the due date.
|Loan Type||Renewable?||Fine||Declared Lost after|
|3 day loan||No||No fines unless lost||30 days overdue|
|7 day loan||Yes, one time||$5 per day, $70 max||30 days overdue|
|History Collection||Yes, one time||$5 per day, $70 max||30 days overdue|
|30 day loan||Yes, 11 times||No fines unless lost||30 days overdue|
|120 day loan||Yes, 2 times||No fines unless lost||30 days overdue|
|Interlibrary Loan||Check band for restrictions||No fines unless lost|
|Reserves: 2 hour loan||No||$2 per hour, $200 max||24 hours overdue|
|Reserves: 1-7 day loan||No||$5 per day, $200 max||24 hours overdue|
Reports of delinquency are filed with the Registrar's Office for long overdue materials and unpaid fines. This results in holds on records which blocks registration and transcript requests. A delinquency also suspends all borrowing privileges (including renewals). Privileges will be restored once the delinquent account has been settled.
You may pay fines by cash or check at any library service desk or by credit or debit card at the Library Help desk on the second floor of Hale Library. You may also pay online through your My Library Account. Checks made out to K-State Libraries can be mailed to:
222 Hale Library
1100 Mid Campus Drive
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506
If you have lost materials you’ve borrowed, please contact us at 785-532-3014 so that we can help. We cannot refund lost-book fees after 6 months have elapsed since the fees have been paid.
All materials which circulate for more than fourteen days are subject to recall for use by another patron. When a book is recalled, the patron who has the item is notified that the material is needed by another patron and is asked to return the books by a specific date. On the first day that a recalled item is overdue, all borrowing privileges are suspended until it is returned. Fines apply to faculty.
Library materials that have a loan period longer than seven days may be renewed. They can be renewed by bringing the materials to the Information Desk, by bringing the "courtesy" notice to the Information Desk, or by returning, within seven days, the "courtesy" notice via the mail to the Information Desk with instructions to renew.
Patrons may request discharging receipts when returning materials. The receipt will list the books discharged and the date discharged. Obtaining and keeping these receipts will enable patrons to more quickly resolve any problems that may occur later.