Skip to the content

Kansas State University

The Rudy Clarenburg Lecture Series

The 2010 lecture series featured:

Jochen Schacht, Ph.D.
Professor of Biological Chemistry in Otolaryngology
Director, Kresge Hearing Research Institute, University of Michigan

Dr. Schacht presented a lecture:
September 27, 2010 at 3:30 p.m.
“Hearing and Hearing Loss: from Bench and Bedside”

The seminar was held in the Mara Conference Center – Trotter Hall 

Jochen Schacht

Dr. Schacht received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Heidelberg, Germany, and joined the University of Michigan in 1969 where he is now Professor of Biological Chemistry in Otolaryngology and Director of the Kresge Hearing Research Institute.

The goal of Dr. Schachtís research is to determine the causes and help prevent acquired hearing loss. Other research efforts include biochemical and biological studies of cell communication and regulatory mechanisms in the inner ear, cell survival and apoptotic pathways in drug-induced hearing loss, noise trauma and age-related hearing impairment, and environmental factors that cause deafness.

Dr. Schacht has served on scientific review and strategic planning committees for the National Institutes of Health and is a member of the editorial boards of several professional journals. He has received numerous national and international honors for his work, including the University of Michiganís Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, and was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

We are grateful that Dr. Schacht will present The Dr. Rudolf Clarenburg Lectureship in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University. We hope that you will attend his lecture.

Former Clarenburg Lecturers

2010 Dr. Jochen Schacht
2009 Dr. Casey T. Weaver
2008 Dr. Colin G. Nichols
2008 Dr. Robert J. Genco
2007 Dr. Peter Agre
2007 Dr. William B. Guggino
2006 Dr. Mark A. Knepper
2006 Dr. Avril Somlyo
2004 Dr. Jim Riviere
2003 Dr. Jeanne M. Nerbonne
2002 Dr. Michael Welsh
2002 Dr. Gerald DiBona
2001 Dr. George A. Brooks
1999 Dr. Arthur "Buzz" Brown
1998 Dr. Clara Franzini-Armstrong
1998 Dr. Gordon Mitchell
1997 Dr. Kim Johnson
1997 Dr. Larry Sinoway