Skip to the content

Kansas State University

The Rudy Clarenburg Lecture Series


Dr. Rudy Clarenburg

The Rudy Clarenburg Lecture Series was established in 1996 to honor the late Rudolf Clarenburg, Professor of Anatomy and Physiology. The Lecture Series brings nationally and internationally acclaimed scientists to Kansas State University to discuss their research interests with students and faculty throughout the University.

Dr. Rudolf Clarenburg joined the Department of Anatomy and Physiology in October, 1966. He received his Doctor of Sciences in 1965 from Netherlands State University, Utrecht, Holland. Dr. Clarenburg was a Research Assistant/Associate in the Department of Physiology, University of California, Berkeley from 1959 to 1966. At K-State he taught courses in physiological chemistry, intermediary metabolism and veterinary physiology. In 1983 Dr. Clarenburg received the Norden Distinguished Teacher award “for distinguished teaching in the field of veterinary medicine.”

The Dr. Rudolf Clarenburg Lectureship is made possible by the generous support received from Mrs. Margalith Clarenburg and her family. Mrs. Clarenburg passed away on April 10, 2002, following a long battle with cancer. She is deeply missed by her family and friends, but her legacy and support for the Clarenburg Lecture Series will continue for many years to come.


The current lecture series features:

Dr. James Eberwine, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Dr. Eberwine will present a lecture: 
December 9, 2013 at 3:30 p.m. 
“Emergent Properties of Single Cells: Dynamical Systems Analysis”

The seminar will be held in the Mara Conference Center, Trotter Hall, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Charles O. Elson

Dr. Eberwine is the Elmer Holmes Bobst Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania where he also serves as Co-Director of the PENN Genome Frontiers Institute. Dr. Eberwine coined the phrase “expression profile” to describe the relative abundances of RNAs. Further he and his colleagues were the first to identify the large complexity of RNAs that are targeted to neuronal dendrites; directly demonstrate protein synthesis in dendrites; prove that membrane proteins could be synthesized in dendrites and inserted into the membrane to form functional receptors; identify the largest verified lists of in vivo RNA cargoes for specific RNA binding proteins; to demonstrate the capacity for and functional requirement for dendritic splicing of RNAs and to show that RNA expression profiles could be transferred between cells carrying their phenotypic memory with them. These research accomplishments were possible because of technology developed by Dr. Eberwine including: single cell PCR, the aRNA procedure, the phototransfection methodology, the PAIR procedure and the functional genomics TIPeR methodology as well as other single cell analysis technologies. Dr. Eberwine is an inventor on over sixty patents and has founded three biotech companies while serving on the Scientific Advisory Board for three additional companies. Dr. Eberwine has served as a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors for NIDA and is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for the EP Abraham Trust Fund of Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford University.

Dr. Eberwine originated and directed the Cold Spring Harbor Summer Course formerly entitled “Cloning of Neural Genes” and now called “Advanced Techniques in Neuroscience”. Dr. Eberwine has directed or taught in this course 19 times over its’ 24year history. In 2012, he developed and Co-Directed the first Cold Spring Harbor Course on “Single Cell Techniques”. Dr. Eberwine has taught molecular biology in courses around the World including in Mexico, Germany, England and Brazil.

Dr. Eberwine has given many named lectureships and received various awards for his scientific accomplishments including a NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Award, a MERIT award from NIH, the NIH Pioneer Award, an Ellison Foundation Senior Scholar Award and the McKnight Technological Innovations in Neuroscience Award.

We appreciate that Dr. Eberwine will present the Dr. Rudolf Clarenburg Lectureship in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University. We hope that you will attend his lecture.


Former Clarenburg Lecturers

2012 Dr. Charles O. Elson
2011 Dr. Scott T. Brady
2010 Dr. Jochen Schacht
2009 Dr. Casey T. Weaver
2008 Dr. Colin G. Nichols
2008 Dr. Robert J. Genco
2007 Dr. Peter Agre
2007 Dr. William B. Guggino
2006 Dr. Mark A. Knepper
2006 Dr. Avril Somlyo
2004 Dr. Jim Riviere
2003 Dr. Jeanne M. Nerbonne
2002 Dr. Michael Welsh
2002 Dr. Gerald DiBona
2001 Dr. George A. Brooks
1999 Dr. Arthur "Buzz" Brown
1998 Dr. Clara Franzini-Armstrong
1998 Dr. Gordon Mitchell
1997 Dr. Kim Johnson
1997 Dr. Larry Sinoway