Skip to the content

Kansas State University

The Rudy Clarenburg Lecture Series


Dr. Rudy Clarenburg

The Rudy Clarenburg Lecture Series was established in 1996 to honor the late Rudolf Clarenburg, Professor of Anatomy and Physiology. The Lecture Series brings nationally and internationally acclaimed scientists to Kansas State University to discuss their research interests with students and faculty throughout the University. 

This Fall’s lecture series features Mark A. Knepper, MD, Ph.D
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, NIH
Bethesda, Maryland. His lectures will be:

"Aquaporins in Health and Disease"  November 29, 2006 at 4:00 p.m.

The seminar will be held in the Practice Management Center, Trotter Hall, College of Veterinary Medicine. Refreshments will be served at 3:30 p.m.

Mark A. Knepper, MD, Ph.D

Dr. Knepper received his Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from Case Western University in 1975, and his M.D. in 1976. His research interests include proteomics, renal function, epithelial function and biomedical engineering. He has published over 325 journal articles and book chapters on these subjects.

Dr. Knepper’s laboratory uses a systems biology approach to discover the fundamental mechanisms involved in regulation of the transport of water, urea and ions by the kidney, and to discover how these regulatory processes are altered in various clinically important fluid and electrolyte disorders. A major current emphasis is on regulatory systems involved in controlling water excretion by the kidney including mechanisms of aquaporin-2 regulation and the role of urea transporters in the urinary concentrating mechanism. Studies are also being conducted on the molecular basis of disordered renal NaCl transport in hypertension and congestive heart failure.

For more information about Dr. Knepper, please visit his webpage at

We are grateful that Dr. Knepper will present The Dr. Rudolf Clarenburg Lectureship in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University.


Former Clarenburg Lecturers

2006 Dr. Avril Somlyo
2004 Dr. Jim Riviere
2003 Dr. Jeanne M. Nerbonne
2002 Dr. Michael Welsh
2002 Dr. Gerald DiBona
2001 Dr. George A. Brooks
1999 Dr. Arthur "Buzz" Brown
1998 Dr. Clara Franzini-Armstrong
1998 Dr. Gordon Mitchell
1997 Dr. Kim Johnson
1997 Dr. Larry Sinoway