E. R. Frank Award


To honor those veterinarians who have contributed positively and significantly to Veterinary Medicine through their long term service to the Kansas State University, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Criteria for Nomination:
Nomination may be made by any alumnus of the Kansas State University, College of Veterinary Medicine

Nominees should be individuals who have enjoyed a long-standing (15 years) relationship with the college. This relationship may include service, either current or prior, as a member of the faculty. Individuals need not be an alumnus of Kansas State University to be nominated and considered for this award.

Nominees should have a noteworthy record of significant service and contribution to both the profession and Kansas State University, and be recognized for achieving their success in an unassuming and unpretentious manner that emulates the professional essence of Dr. E. R. Frank.

Seated administrators would not be considered as nominees during their term of administrative appointment.

There is no limit to the number of time an individual may be nominated.

Any individual may receive this award only once in their lifetime.

The awardee will be selected by the Executive Board of the Veterinary Medical Alumni Association (VMAA), or at the pleasure of the VMAA President, selection may be accomplished by an awards committee established by the Dean of Veterinary Medicine which includes the VMAA President or his/her designated representative.

The honoree will receive their award at Heritage Evening during the Annual Conference for Veterinarians and be presented by the College of Veterinary Medicine and its Veterinary Medical Alumni Association the first weekend of June.

E. R. Frank Award
2014 Dr. Derek A. Mosier DVM, Kansas State University, 1978
2013 Dr. Polly R. Schoning DVM, Kansas State University, 1964
2012 Dr. Deryl Troyer DVM, Kansas State University, 1972
2011 Frederick Oehme 1969, KSU CVM Faculty, 46 years of service to the college
2010 Walter Cash 1971, KSU CVM Faculty, 36 years of service to the college
2009 David Hodgson 1968, KSU CVM Faculty
2008 George A. Kennedy KSU CVM Faculty, 33 years of service to the college
2007 Robert M. Phillips 1951
2006 Howard Erickson 1959
2005 James R. Coffman Served as dean of the K-State College of Veterinary Medicine from 1984 to 1987
2004 Robert Taussig KSU CVM Faculty, 18 years of service to the college
2003 Dan W. Upson 1952, 1962, 1969
2002 Russell A. Frey 1952, 1970
2001 Jerome G. Vestwebber KSU CVM Faculty, 32 years of service to the college
2000 Hugh C. Butler KSU CVM Faculty, 20 years of service to the college
1999 Loyce Derald Jernigan 1945
1998 Melvin J. Swenson 1943
1997 David A. Schoneweis 1956
1996 Frank W. Jordan 1939
1995 John L. Noordsy 1946, 1962
1994 Lee T. Railsback 1936, 1937
1993 James D. Smith 1958
1991 William J. Winchester 1946
1987 Earl Ray Walker 1945
1986 L. Derald Jernigan 1945
1985 Roy J. Milleret 1944, 1959
1985 Andrew P. Gray 1953, 1963