Distinguished Alumnus Award


The Distinguished Alumnus Award provides an avenue for recognizing one or more alumni of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine for their outstanding achievements.


  • Only living alumni of the College of Veterinary Medicine shall be eligible. This includes not only those who obtained their professional degrees but also those who received advanced degrees at Kansas State;

  • An alumnus who holds any one of the following State offices is not eligible for the award as long as he/she holds office:

    Governor, Member of Senate, Lieutenant Governor, Member of House of Representatives, Attorney General, Member State Board of Regents, Printer, Member State Board of Education, Insurance Commissioner, State Dept. of Admin., Auditor, Director, Department of Budget, Treasurer, Governor's Staff, Secretary of Agriculture;

  • Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible to receive the award during their period of service on the committee;

  • Except in cases of rare and unusual circumstances, a period of at least fifteen (15) years should elapse after receipt of degree before an individual is eligible for the award.

Factors to be considered by Selection Committee

  • Outstanding career in veterinary medicine;

  • Significant contributions benefiting his/her community, state, and/or nation;

  • Humanitarian services and contributions to the veterinary profession and society rather than material success alone;

  • Direct service to the College and/or University should receive consideration, but such contributions shall not be mandatory nor conclusive in making the selection;

  • Political success alone shall not be considered as an adequate measure of service;

  • Selection shall be based upon the life career of a nominee rather than upon a single activity or incident.

Awardee to be selected by the Executive Board of the VMAA for Veterinary Medicine.

Presentation of Award
The award is presented at the Heritage Evening during the Annual Conference for Veterinarians by the College of Veterinary Medicine and its Veterinary Medical Alumni Association the first weekend of June.


Distinguished Alumnus Award
2014 Dr. David E. Granstrom 1978
2013 Ronald J. Marler 1973
2012 Michael Cavanaugh 1983
2011 James R. Coffman 1962
2010 John L. Noordsy 1946
2009 Guy H. Palmer 1980
2008 Jack Judy 1958
2007 Cecil Ingmire 1943
2006 Robert Smith 1968, 1970, 1976
2005 Vaughn A. Seaton 1954
2004 Bennie I. Osburn 1961
2003 Delwin L. Bokelman 1958
2002 Steven C. Henry 1970, 1972
2001 Duane R. Peterson 1945, 1959
2000 Peter C. Kennedy 1949
1999 William L. Mengeling 1960
1998 Fayne H. Oberst 1943 July
1997 Wayne O. Kester 1931
1996 Howard H. Furumoto 1950, 1966
1995 Marshall P. Reeve 1943 July
1995 Marvin L. Olmstead 1970, 1972, 1975
1994 Donald G. Low 1947
1994 Samuel E. Strahm 1959
1993 Jacob E. Mosier 1945, 1948